About

cropped-img_1009.jpgOh hey. I’m Chandler Baker (formerly-and-quite-recently known as Chandler Craig). I’m a twenty-something lawyer, author of young adult and middle grade fiction and dedicated nerdfighter. In 2011, I graduated law school from the University of Texas in Austin. Prior to that, I attended the University of Pennsylvania, where I graduated early so that I could take time off to try my hand at this whole writing thing. So far, so good.

I like morbid facts, watching scary movies through my fingers, thai food, Eminem and very high heels.

My debut novel, ALIVE, will be out sometime in 2015 from Disney-Hyperion. Here’s the Publisher’s Marketplace Announcement:

PM

Chandler Baker’s debut ALIVE, pitched as in the vein of Gayle Foreman and Lauren Oliver, about a girl recovering from a heart transplant, whose recovery (acclimating back to home and school life) also introduces disturbing side effects and hallucinations that haunt her every day, as she soon discovers the line between life and death is more fragile than even a girl with a replacement heart could imagine, to Emily Meehan at Disney-Hyperion, with Laura Schreiber editing, at auction, by Daniel Lazar at Writers House on behalf of Nick Harris at The Story Foundation.

***

Shortly thereafter in the Fall of 2015, the first book in my new HIGH SCHOOL HORROR STORY series will hit shelves from Feiwel & Friends, an imprint of Macmillan. Here’s the Publisher’s Marketplace Announcement:

YA author Chandler Baker’s TEEN FRANKENSTEIN, the first in the High School Horror Story series which reimagines classic literary monsters in a high school setting in Paris, Texas, to Jean Feiwel at Feiwel and Friends, in a three-book deal in conjunction with DiGa Vision LLC, a full service production company/studio headed by Tony DiSanto and Liz Gateley, known for their roles in creating and producing hit shows including The Hills, Jersey Shore, Laguna Beach, the hit MTV series Teen Wolf, Teen Mom and Ke$ha, My Crazy Beautiful Life, the first to be published in Fall 2015.

Agent Information: Daniel Lazar, Writers House

More about me?

My favorite authors: John Green (DFTBA), Laurie Halse Anderson, Ally Carter, Courtney Summers, Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Oliver, Melissa Marr, William Styron, Alain Robbe-Grillet, J.K. Rowling, Orson Scott Card, J.R.R. Tolkein, Frank Herbert, Lisa Shearin, P.C. and Kristin Cast, Stephenie Meyer

Writing Quote I live by: “Am I kidding myself about being a “creative artist”? Can I possibly be a creative artist if I approach this effort in so methodical and left-brained a fashion?”–Journal of a Novel

Characters I Can’t Live Without: Hazel Grace, Etienne, Sam Kingston, Harry Potter, Hermione Granger, Zoey Redbird, Stevie Rae Johnson, Ender Wiggin, Ruby Oliver, Donia, Stingo, Paul Atreides, Bilbo Baggins

5 Crucial Things You Need to Know About Me:

1. Jay Leno tops my Sexiest Man in the World list. Not kidding.

2. I hate bananas and all forms of cake. That includes pancakes, cupcakes, muffins, and brownies. I’m nothing if not consistent.

3. I like to research serial killers, but then when I’m done, I’m scared out of my pants and can’t sleep for weeks.

4. If you touch my neck, I’ll punch your face. Ok, not really, but it does freak me out a lot and I will be very upset and make a weird hissing noise then turn bright red.

5. I never go anywhere without applying waterproof mascara.

Adventures

leopards scuba

eiffel

cali

Advertisement

20 thoughts on “About

  1. Beth Fehlbaum says:

    Hi! Thanks for leaving a comment on my blogspot page.
    Please e-mail me directly at beth@bethfehlbaum.com with questions about Kunati. It’s a great small independent press– in fact, Kunati was named “Independent Publisher of the Year” by ForeWord Magazine, just a couple of weeks ago at Book Expo America!

    Beth Fehlbaum, author
    Courage in Patience, a story of hope for those who have endured abuse
    http://courageinpatience.blogspot.com
    http://www.kunati.com/courage-in-patience
    http://www.kunati.com
    Chapter 1 is online!

  2. Bill Garre says:

    Hi Chandler,

    This is Bill, Your mom sent me the link to your blog. I enjoyed reading it!!

    Things sound very exciting!

    Bill

    • Damian says:

      For me, choosing a mediacl specialty is easy. I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to work as a Dermatologist Tech prior to moving to Alaska. What an amazing field! No two cases are the same and more than one type of procedure can be performed in a day. Working for a dermatologist provides the benefits of both a private office setting and hours along with the experience of surgeries and unique treatments. Cyst removals and cancer treatments became the most interesting procedures to me and I can not wait to get back into the field!There are not many positions or specialties I would turn down when it comes to the mediacl field. If I had to pick one, however, it would have to be gynecology. Why would this be the field I turn down? I am honestly not sure. I must be lacking the gene the would cause me to be interested in the subject! For whatever reason I would choose to work anywhere else before choosing gynecology. Specialty clinics are like sushi I guess. How do you know you don’t like it if you’ve never tried it?!

  3. Ashleigh-Bridie says:

    Hello,

    I happened to stumble upon your blog via AW forum and have to say i have spent the last 1 1/2 reading vias your tags.

    Nice site girl! Definately going on my reading list! Keep it up!

    Ashleigh-Bridie

  4. Jody says:

    hey chandler,
    i was just wondering how you got involved in getting advance copies of books from publishers to review for your blog? it seems pretty cool… did you pitch them the idea?
    Thanks!
    Jody

  5. cmcraig says:

    Hey Jody,

    Actually, publishers and publicists from the publishers contacted me. Some of them stumbled on my blog probably from having google alert notify them that I had mentioned a book from their publisher or something on my blog. Not exactly sure.

    I think it is important to have book reviews already on your blog.

    I also think maybe how much traffic you get public might be a good way to encourage publishers to contact you.

    I think maybe just give it time. There are ways to contact publishers, but you are supposed to have “company letterhead” etc. And I have more offers to read books then I can handle at this point anyway, so I’ve started to turn down and haven’t really tried actively seeking books.

    Hope that helps!!

  6. Jody says:

    Thanks, Chandler!
    I don’t even a blog started just yet and am just thinking about content ideas — but I think yours is a fun and informative one that I keep an eye on, especially inspiring given how many things you are trying to juggle at one time! 🙂
    Good luck with Scout too — I’m sure it’ll be a hit! Pos energy your way.
    thanks again,
    Jody

  7. Lisa Damian says:

    I thought I was the only person who did that when someone touches my neck!

    I love the name and theme of your blog. I just stumbled upon it today, but being a fellow writer, reviewer, and blogger of similar topics, I’ll definitely be back again and look forward to reading more of your posts.

  8. J.E. MacLeod says:

    Bah………I’m shocked someone can hate cake.

    But I will forgive you….because you have a cool name and your book sounds delicious.

  9. Cate says:

    Chandler – love your blog. So great to see other people trying to make it as writers (although you have a publisher and book deals, so you’re far ahead of me!). It’s so great to know I’m not the only one out there making a go at this!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s