Review in Questions: I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You

The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women is a fairly typical all-girls schools–that is, it would be if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class. The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses, but it’s really a school for spies.

 

ityily


Cammie Morgan is a second-generation Gallagher Girl, and by her sophomore year she’s already fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways (one of which involves a piece of uncooked spaghetti). But the one thing the Gallagher Academy hasn’t prepared her for is what to do when she falls for a boy who think’s she’s an ordinary girl.

 

Favorite thing about the book?

The voice is great. Not annoying, but still very teenager. Cammie is clever and likable. However, my favorite part was definitely the format of the book. We talked last week about first person POV and, one of my favorite things to see in a first person narrative is a creative format, a creative reason why the narrator is telling his or her story. 

In this book, the narrative is couched in a Covert Operations Report, which Cammie has been encouraged to write in order to detail her involvement in the events of the semester before. 

Obligatory least favorite thing about the book?

Not sure what happened with one of the main characters. She didn’t really play a part in the end, which was really too bad. Although, I assume she’ll play a major role in the later books. 

What was most surprising about the book?

The last page–sorry, no spoilers here. There’s a quick little sentence, though, that surprised me. 

Favorite Character?

Macey McHenry

Underlying themes?

Girl Power. I think the reader gets hammered on the head with this one. 

After this book you felt…?

Amused and happy. 

Who would you recommend this book to?

Folks that like the teenagery YA voice, but with less angst. 

Fans of Harry Potter or House of Night that are craving the boarding school-set series. 

Readers who enjoy the girl power messages of E. Lockhart. 

Finally, how long did it take you to read?

This is sort of embarrassing, but I started reading this in July of ’08! Honestly, this has nothing to do with the quality of the book. Nate read it in a day. But, I would describe it not so much as a can’t-put-it-down type book, but a happy read. I kept picking up this book when I wanted a laugh or feel amused. It’s a nice book for the nightstand and always put me in a good mood. It’s just so darn cute. 

Actually, though, my timing is good because Gallagher Girls #3 comes out soon, so y’all are just in time to read the first two if you so desire and then pick up Don’t Judge a Girl by Her Cover

 

Advertisement

12 thoughts on “Review in Questions: I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You

  1. shelli says:

    sounds like me I start books and have a few going at a time. Then I get into writing and forget I started the books. Then I go back to them and read them and go “this sounds familiar” only to see a page dog-earred. 🙂

  2. cortney says:

    um i have never read the book, i was just surfing around and i read one of the comments. Dumb Blonde? I mean come on. that is so over rated and old. i mean, i have bright blonde NATURAL hair and i have a 3.9 GPA. and obviously your not stupid, beacause you actually read it.

    • Etienne says:

      Can a lyric can jumpstart a whole novel? Absolutely.And The Sundays do have great lricys.I have various songs from one album which feature in my novel, as the character listens to and is influenced by music. It also supports the location and action. However – how much of a lyric – one line? a chorus? – may one include without infringing on copyright?It doesn’t ring true to say…so she sang track three from X album out loud…I need her to show and hear her sing the line(s)…I read conflicting things online about ‘fair use’. Any advice?PS: And I love that Sundays track.

  3. Rachel says:

    I absolutely loved this book im not a big reading fan but once i get in a book that i really like i cant put it down. One night I read it from 9:00pm to 12:00pm. Ally carter im a huge fan.

  4. summer says:

    I got bright blonde natural hair and i gotta 5.0 GPA! you really shouldnt judge a person by their hair! omg! it gets annoying

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s