Review in Questions: The Hunger Games

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one by and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteeen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

suzanne-collins1

 

  On Amazon

 

 

Favorite thing about the book?

This is probably my favorite YA read in a couple years at least, so naturally, there are a lot of highlights. But I’d have to say my favorite thing about the book was how much it scared the pants off me! Now, I’m a girl that hates the feeling of being chased during tag, but honestly, I think the feeling of being hunted would just be the most terrifying thing ever. 

Make a book out of that feeling and you have a novel that literally won’t let you stop turning the pages. 

What makes this work so well is the humanness of the characters’ reaction. The concept may be *hopefully* quite unrealistic, but the authors offers the gamut of true, honest, human reactions in an extraordinary situation that make the book come to life. 

Obligatory least favorite thing about the book?

In the climax, the author offered an element that I thought was unnecessary for how naturally she’d woven the story. If you’ve read I bet you know what I’m talking about. Feel free to comment, but make sure you place a spoiler warning at the top of your post. 

What was most surprising about the book?

Gender role reversal. 

Favorite Character?

Rue, I think. Katniss, the narrator, is great, too, though. I was so impressed with how Suzanne Collins laid the groundwork for her character in the beginning, knowing how it needed to pay off down the road. 

Underlying themes?

The overwhelming instinct for humans to survive

Oppression–maybe some throwbacks to slavery in the US, the futility of revolt

A bit of Girl Power, but perhaps more gender equality

Definitely social commentary on American Idol and reality shows in general

After this book you felt…?

Mostly sad when I thought about it.

Who would you recommend this book to?

Everyone? 

More seriously, I think this is a great book for boys looking to read more YA that is not slanted so heavily geared toward teen girls. Don’t let the female narrator scare you away. 

Lovers of action and social lottery books. 

Adults that want to see what YA is all about.

If you love horror, but want to get away from zombies, etc., try this. It’s a different kind of scary.

Finally, how long did it take you to read? 

My sweet friend had heard me talking about this book. She’s not a YA reader or a writer, but she remembered and knew I’d had a tough weekend so she ran out an bought it for me. She gave it to me Saturday night. I had to break for homework, etc. but finished it Sunday. 


2 thoughts on “Review in Questions: The Hunger Games

  1. Jen says:

    I love your Reviews In Questions. Great idea.

    So glad you liked this book. I’m always afraid when hyping something up that the person won’t like it because she expects something else.

Leave a comment